Hasselblad Ring Flash

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by fakir_ren, Jan 6, 2008.

  1. polypal

    polypal New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello Rick,

    I would look at a similar generator like the ones from Metz 60 series for capacitors.
    It would even be easier to use a Metz generator instead of the Braun.

    If you are determinned to get the Braun going simply search for capacitors that fit inside the Braun unit.
    Give me the dimensions of the capacitors and I will see what I can do.
    Just saw a Hasselblad ringflash go for 100 euro.
    It concerned a brand new unit in makers box etc.

    Paul
     
  2. ted stewart

    ted stewart New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    hasselblad ringflash

    Hi There
    I'm just new to this forum and this is my first post,i was wondering if anyone out there could give me some advice i've just acquired a hasselblad ringflash with a new tube which needs to be fitted the old tube has been removed its attached to a metz 402 dry fit pack i can see where the 2 wires attach to the connectors on the tube,1 black 1 grey,but there is a third white wire coming from a capacitor which i presume is the trigger this wire also has a black wire spliced to it not sure where they fit can anyone help? i've attached a couple of jpegs which might help
    kind regards
    Ted Stewart
     

    Attached Files:

  3. wbulte

    wbulte Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,540
    Likes Received:
    2
    Is that really a cap (the blue thingy)? Or is it the ignition / trigger coil that needs to be connected to the ignition electrode of the flash tube?

    Wilko
     
  4. ted stewart

    ted stewart New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    hasselblad ringflash

    Hi There
    Thanks for the reply,i think youre right it is the trigger,does it matter which side of the flash tube it connects to?
    cheers
    Ted
     
  5. wbulte

    wbulte Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,540
    Likes Received:
    2
    Normally there is a 3rd electrode to ignite the tube. That can be a very thin wire wound around the tube, sometimes it is a small ring around the tube (not sure, might be that such a ring connects to a very thin metal layer deposited on the outside of the tube).

    The ignition wire is *not* connected to one of the ends of the tube.

    Feel free to post more pictures, maybe I can figure it out from those.

    Wilko
     
  6. ted stewart

    ted stewart New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi There
    Thanks for the info,will not connect anything until i'm sure of the set up,looking at the previous posters images doesn't look like there is a wire wrapped round the tube as would be expected and can't see anywhere else to connect the trigger wire,will upload some more detailed images of both side of circuit board and see if anyone can help.

    Kind Regards
    Ted Stewart
     
  7. polypal

    polypal New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello Ted,


    You are right I checked with my unused ring flash. No wire around the tube.
    Found another RF in used condition yesterday at a camera fair.
    It came complete with the diffusor that is often missing.
    Also found a new extension cable for that one that is suitable for a 402 generator pack from Metz.

    Both will be in the classified section after testing.


    Paul
     
  8. ted stewart

    ted stewart New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hasselbad Ringflash

    Thanks Paul
    Don't suppose you would be prepared to have a quick look inside your ringflash to see what the set up is? would be eternally gratefull

    Cheers Ted
     
  9. polypal

    polypal New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Of course I thought of that, only one little problem.
    My toolbox is not se well equipped and with Wilko using my tyre levers performing a service job on a lens my possibilities are limited.

    I will open this RF and take a couple of pics but please give me a little time to do that.



    Paul
     
  10. wbulte

    wbulte Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,540
    Likes Received:
    2
    I will return the tyre levers soonish, the angle grinder proved to be more useful to the job at hand after all.

    Wilko
     
  11. polypal

    polypal New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Watch the classified section for a number of fully serviced one owner items.
    Lenses deserve special recommendation.
    All items carry a 100% no/no warranty.

    All reasonable offers over the asking price will be considered.


    Paul
     
  12. Jackaubrey

    Jackaubrey Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Paul,

    Interesting, any FE Lenses coming up?

    I feel my HAS flaring up again! :z02_feedtroll:

    Kevin
     
  13. ted stewart

    ted stewart New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    hasselblad ringflash

    Hi Paul
    not sure if my last reply reached you so will send again

    of course i'm happy to wait,i really appreciate your help with this, the front panel comes off when the small screws at the edge are removed, the bigger screw near the full charge indicator holds the circuit board in place so best left alone,look forward to hearing from you

    cheers Ted
     
  14. polypal

    polypal New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello guys,


    I managed to prise open and whats more even close the RF again after taking a picture of the insides.
    Nothing much to be seen other than some ante-diluvian electronics and some chaotic wiring.

    Both my batteries for the Metz generators are down.
    Checking the RF will take at least a couple of hours before there is enough power for the generator.

    Kevin,

    No new FE lenses in sight yet. Should you be able to find a 110 without databus I have one new FE lens barrel left.
    A transplant of the glass from a donor F lens gives an as new FE lens. Just think about that option.
    The last 110 F lens I found was way to expensive: over 2000 Aus $.

    Waiting for the dry fit batteries to come alive again.



    Paul
     
  15. polypal

    polypal New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Pictures of the two units side by side:


    connecting cord.jpg EABV0143.jpg

    Left: Just found unit to be tested.

    Right: Teds RF withloose wire.


    The loose wire is shielded in a teflon tubing and connescts to the PC cord.
    Other differences are unclear to me.
    It looks like some parts are missing in Teds RF.

    I suppose more research is needed.


    Paul
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Jackaubrey

    Jackaubrey Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Paul,

    I purchased an FE 110mm from a German Evilbay dealer earlier this year for just over £700 and then discovered it was actually brand new, never been used with all the papers and the blank warranty. I guess this was a bargain.

    I do own an F version of the 150mm (and the 350mm) but I expect the FE casings for these are as rare as hens teeth now.

    Regards

    Kevin
     
  17. ted stewart

    ted stewart New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    hasselblad ringflash

    Hi Paul
    Thanks for the pics,mine does look a bit different but could be just an older model,looks like my black and grey wires should attach to the electrodes which sit on a couple of connectors that go through to the other side of the pc board,the question is ,is the add on wire to the trigger just an extension to reach the pc cord or do i connect to both sides of pc cord to complete a loop circuit when the shutter is fired?cant see any trace of solder on the insulated pc wire but the screen pc wire is bare where it meets the circuit board could attach there,maybe its time i bit the bullet and tried it,many thanks

    Ted
     
  18. polypal

    polypal New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Lucky you, your 110 mm FE is an absolute bargain!
    Any FE gear, bodies, lenses in good condition is getting good prices these days.

    I do not expect to find more of those unused lens parts.
    These lenses were last produced some six years ago.
    Since then no more parts have become available.


    Paul
     
  19. polypal

    polypal New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ted,

    Your conclusion seems correct.
    As far as I can see the extended wire is connected to the centerwire of the PC cord.

    The other grey and black wires are connected to the tube electrodes.

    Good chance you have a working RF when everything is re connected again.


    Paul
     
  20. polypal

    polypal New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ring flash manual

    ringflash manual.jpg

    Information about the ring flash is hard to find.
    This scan from the manual may answer some questions.
    This is the early RF with large Tuchel connector.
    Later RF units have a smaller DIN connector.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice